Photo by Eugene on Unsplash

Among them is the Ukrainian Health Minister, accused of being ineffective. 

Three ministers in Ukraine are on their way out, reports several media outlets yesterday. The Minister for Development of Economy, Trade, and Agriculture, Ihor Petrashko, and Infrastructure Minister, Vladyslav Krykliy, have both sent their resignation letter, and Health Minister Maksym Stepanov is being pushed out by the Ukrainian Prime Minister. 

All three ministers are blamed for being ineffective by the Ukrainian government, and that is why they are getting fired, reports several media outlets. Kyiv Post reports that Prime Minister Denys Shmyhal has asked the parliament to fire Stepanov, who has been in charge of Ukraine’s response to the pandemic since March, due to a lack of results. 

Stepanov is blamed for being ineffective and not delivering what he has promised. The main criticism is that the has not been good enough implementing the vaccination program, which has been very slow in Ukraine. Only 8.258 are fully vaccinated, and Ukraine has received few vaccines compared to other countries. 

Other ministers were also ineffective

The Ukrainian news outlet Unian writes that Petrashko and Krykliy also both will be fired due to their lack of results. Petrashko is said to be “inefficient,” according to Olha Tunii, press secretary for the Verkhovna Rada Chairman Dmytro Razumkov. At the same time, Krykliy is blamed for not being able to control his ministry.

Unian writes that Krykliy is criticized for allowing part of the ministry to work in the interests of the transport committee chair, Yuriy Kisel, instead of for the good of Ukraine. The Ukrainian parliament is set to meet on Tuesday to discuss the reshuffle. 

It is unclear at this time what impact it will have on the ongoing reform work in Ukraine at this point. Some speculate that Stepanovs current deputy, Viktor Liashko, will be the new Health Minister, while Krykliy will be replaced by the Head of the Ukravtodor Road Management Agency and Petrashko by the head of State Tax Service.